Kobayashi confirmed for Ferrari WEC drive

Picture courtesy Scuderia Ferrari

Kamui Kobayashi has been confirmed to take part in the World Endurance Championship behind the wheel of an AF Corse run 458 Italia. The move was predicted by F1 Asphalt in our post last month when Kobayashi and former Indian F1 driver Karun Chandok both tested for the team at Aragon in Spain, and this news confirms that the former Japanese Formula 1 driver will be driving the 458 Italia for the Ferrari factory team.

Kobayashi will be joining other Ferrari factory GT drivers including Giancarlo Fisichella, Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander. The Japanese, who has driven for Sauber and Toyota in Formula 1, will be the first asian to be part of the Ferrari family and drive for the factory team.

AF Corse 458 

The 26 year old said, “It’s an honour for me to become part of the Ferrari family. It will be the first time that I compete in endurance races in a championship featuring GT cars. I will work hard and give my all in this new chapter of my career, knowing I can count on the support of all my fans. I can’t wait to start working with AF Corse and really hope I can aim for the title along with my team-mates.”

It has not yet been confirmed who will be Kobayashi’s co-driver, but the Finn Vilander, who is already one of Ferrari’s drivers, is among the candidates. Fisichella and Bruni led the driver line-up and took the teams title and Ferrari to the manufacturer’s crown last year and they are expected to remain together for this year as well.

Leave a Reply

